Milanos… no not the city. The “fancy” cookie in the white paper bag.

July 27, 2009

Daring Kitchen

Daring Kitchen

The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth. She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.

It took me a while to remember who Gale Gand was. She hosted a show all about pastries on the food network that I really loved. It may have been only the idea of a having a show all about pastries (And then of course there was Jacques Torres. ohmygah x.x!), because I don’t remember anything else about it, other than the set looked like a small pastry shop. Those two are the only shows I watched on Food Network when I was like in junior high or the first years of high school. I’m not sure why. I guess I thought everyone was too fake, which they are. I thought that her show got canceled a long time ago, but apparently, it was only canceled last year. I would have never known, which I regret now.

Anyway, I made the milanos using Isa’s recipe.

Orange Milano

I added orange oil instead of orange zest. The picture is awful I know. And I don’t know what it is with me and big cookies. It gets annoying. Its all so boring.

I saw todays episode of Food Network Star. Firstly, I don’t really watch the show, but today’s show was centered around the new movie Julie and Julia, which I’m quite excited to see. I was really dissipointed that they sent Debbie home. I really liked Debbie. She seems really authentic and I would have really appreciated some more ethnicity on the Food Network and plus, I love Koreans.

I really feel that there should be more shiny hollywood movies about chefs, namely pastry chefs. I feel that there is really a hole here.

Also, no one is ever going to be like Julia Child, ever. She isn’t my favourite and I hardly ever watched her but I appreciate her and understand what she has done for Americas and TV. I’m not talking about in particular, just saying.

Whatever. I’m going to enjoy my Masterpiece “Mystery!” now. Perhaps some Peter Heppner, first.

Leave a Reply

